The awards will be presented during the 61st Annual AGM and Conference at the Awards Dinner Gala. The Awards Dinner will take place on October 3rd, 2019 at the Four Points Sheridan, London, Ontario. The deadline for submission of awards nominations is Thursday, June 28th 2019

For full description and nomination forms click the title link to download the PDF.

Employer Award of Excellence  
This award recognizes and honour an employer who have demonstrated outstanding achievement with: improving the utilization of registered practical nurses (RPNs) in innovative and creative ways; creating a multi-disciplinary team environment for all health care workers; and maintaining a safe, respectful and empowering work environment where RPNs can work to the fullest of their knowledge, skill and judgment.

Award of Excellence and Innovation  
The RPNAO Award of Excellence and Innovation is presented to an RPN who has contributed in a significant way, on an ongoing basis, to the profession; and/or practical nursing in Ontario; and whose efforts have demonstrated exemplary nursing practices.

Preceptor Award of Excellence 
The role of the preceptor is to provide guidance to a student entering the practice setting by creating a positive learning environment in which the student can expand his/her knowledge and skills to successfully integrate nursing theory into practice. The RPNAO Preceptor Award of Excellence is bestowed upon a Registered Practical Nurse (RPN) in recognition of outstanding contributions as a role model for a practical nursing student.

Excellence in the Care of Older Ontarians 
In dedication to Martha Thumlert, an older adult and an exceptional woman who died unnecessarily from a hospital acquired infection. This award celebrates the dedication of an RPN who provides exceptional care to our beloved older adults in a manner that is respectful, compassionate, professional and exemplifies nursing excellence. In particular, this award acknowledges a nurse who is focused on the improvement of safety and well-being of older Ontarians by demonstrating knowledge, innovation and leadership.


Please direct all inquiries and address all submissions to:
Annette Weeres, Director, Professional Practice
5025 Orbitor Dr, Building 5, Suite 200
Mississauga, ON, L4W 4Y5

The deadline for submission of awards nominations is Thursday, June 28th 2019