We are pleased to announce that nominations are now open for the four RPNAO awards this year! The awards will be presented during 58th Annual AGM and Conference at the Award Dinner Gala. This event will take place on Thursday October 27th, 2016 at the Toronto Delta East in Toronto, Ontario. The deadline for submission of awards nominations is June 30, 2016.


Employer Award of Excellence
The objective of this award is to recognize and honour employers that have demonstrated outstanding achievement in: improving the utilization of registered practical nurses (RPNs) in innovative and creative ways; creating a multi-disciplinary team environment for all health care workers; and maintaining a safe, respectful and empowering work environment where RPNs can work to the fullest of their knowledge, skill and judgment.

Award of Excellence and Innovation
The RPNAO Award of Excellence and Innovation is given to an RPN who has contributed in a significant way, on an ongoing basis, to RPNAO; and/or practical nursing in Ontario; and whose efforts have demonstrated exemplary nursing practices.

Preceptor Award of Excellence
The RPNAO Preceptor Award of Excellence is bestowed upon a Registered Practical Nurse (RPN) in recognition of outstanding contributions as a role model for a practical nursing student.

The role of the preceptor is to provide guidance to a student entering the practice setting by creating a positive learning environment in which the student can expand his/her knowledge and skills to successfully integrate nursing theory into practice.

Excellence in the Care of Older Ontarians
In dedication to Martha Thumlert, an older adult and an exceptional woman who died unnecessarily from a hospital acquired infection.

This award celebrates the dedication of an RPN who provides exceptional care to our beloved older adults in a manner that is respectful, compassionate, professional and exemplifies nursing excellence. In particular, this award acknowledges a nurse who is focused on the improvement of safety and well-being of older Ontarians by demonstrating knowledge, innovation and leadership.

Excellence in Journalism Award
The award recognizes the best health reporting by print, online and broadcast journalists across Ontario, with special emphasis on stories that focus on nursing (particularly practical nursing) and the important work that nurses do.

Please direct all inquiries and address all submissions to:
Annette Weeres, Director, Professional Practice
5025 Orbitor Dr, Building 4, Suite 200
Mississauga, ON, L4W 4Y5

The deadline for submission of awards nominations is June 30, 2016.